How You can Become the Success You Want to be

I was 10 when I caught the entrepreneurial bug. My idea was simple. I packaged garden seeds and sold them for 10 cents a pack on my bicycle farm to farm. I was bit by the bug! “I learned more about the importance of developing trust and strength through relationships than I knew was possible. The biggest surprise was that people loved paying me for my seeds. There was nothing hard about it.” Thus began a true entrepreneurial journey in the mastering of a million dollar, money-making skill.

 

Peter Vidmar, a former Olympic silver and gold medalist says, “To be an Olympic Champion you only have to work out two times. When you feel like it and when you don’t.” Most of us are not afraid of hard work, the problem is what worked before is no longer working. You know when you go to a networking meeting and immediately sense that the only reason someone is interested in meeting you is to find out if you are interested in his product. When you pick up the phone within the first two words you know if this is a typical sales call. That is NO longer working. It’s the old paradigm in sales. We have all been oversold to and want to run the other way.

 

The new paradigm says, “I want to get to know you for who you are.” It’s all about relationship.

Remember,

people buy YOU before they buy your product,

people buy from people they like,

people buy from people they trust.

As a society, we are starved for attention, starved to have someone listen to us. So, the best thing we can do when we meet someone new and they say, “And what do you do?” is respond by saying something like, “I would love to tell you, but let me here first about you.” I challenge you to try that with a handful of people this week. You will be surprised at the response you receive. Listening from the heart is one of the greatest gifts you can give anyone. It is also one of the quickest ways to build trust. Begin a new journey today as you shift to the new paradigm that will take you to your success.

LINDA OLSON

Leave a Reply

